Visions (2015)

29 Aug

Visions.edd.08.29.2015

Another de Kooning inspired piece.  I went for vibrant colors with an under wash of coffee left over from the day before.  The subtle brown wash was the perfect background for the colors I chose.  I have never used coffee to paint with but was actually very pleased with the result as a page wash.  Normally I mix a wash with a touch of brown, white, and yellow.  The white usually dominates the mixture and this creation provides a subtle wash for the background of my paintings, but I drink coffee everyday and almost never finish the pot!  Please enjoy this piece and please feel free to offer feedback, I am always open to hearing how my work connects or doesn’t connect with viewers.

(watercolor & coffee on cold-pressed paper Aug. 2015)

2 Responses to “Visions (2015)”

  1. Mighty Kaci August 30, 2015 at 5:06 am #

    I Love it! And I love the idea of using the coffee. It kind of calms things or grounds them together. Haha grounds…

    Like

    • said-simply August 30, 2015 at 5:10 am #

      Ha, ha, nice! Indeed it does ground it a bit. It was fun trying coffee as a background wash! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment