Dream State (2015)

3 Jun

dreamstate.edd.6.1.2015

I always wrestle with too much white space but equally with filling up the space just so a piece doesn’t appear so vacant.  So this painting business always reminds me how important it is to relinquish control and trust the piece to dialogue with me, in this unspeakable way, about what it needs and how to bring it to life.  You’ll notice a red dot in the middle of the piece in the section of geometric doodles.  Why is it there?  The piece spoke to me, not audibly but visually and perceptively, and told me that red dot should go there.  Am I alone in this sense of connection to the pieces I am working on?  Those of you who paint or are passionate about some kind of creative art form, can you relate?

4 Responses to “Dream State (2015)”

  1. createarteveryday June 3, 2015 at 2:20 am #

    Yes. It’s something I’ve learned recently. Let go and listen to the work. When I’m really in the zone, it happens automatically.

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply June 3, 2015 at 2:22 am #

      It is so good to hear that you share that experience. Its a pretty delicious thing to experience!

      Liked by 1 person

      • createarteveryday June 3, 2015 at 2:24 am #

        I used to write as well and when I was in the zone, the story was like a movie I saw in my head and all I was doing was transcribing, pretty much. It’s amazing what our minds can do if we just get outta the way.

        Liked by 1 person

      • said-simply June 3, 2015 at 2:24 am #

        Totally agree!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

