Stripe (1620-27) (2015)

30 Nov

Stripe (1620-27).edd.11.30.2015

Played with browns today.  I love browns!  How do you feel about brown?  It seems like from a design standpoint it is a color that is making a bit of a comeback.  Brown is a warm and inviting color; one that I believe conveys an emotional safety.

(Acrylic on paper, Nov. 2015)

9 Responses to “Stripe (1620-27) (2015)”

  1. Claudia McGill November 30, 2015 at 10:29 pm #

    Brown is another color I used to dislike but I like now, for all the reasons you say.

    I think this piece has an interesting dimensionality to it besides just being beautiful. Restful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply December 1, 2015 at 12:45 am #

      Claudia I love that word-dimensionality-very descriptive of the movement I also perceived this piece has. Thank you so glad you sense a restfulness behind this piece. My mind was in a not so restful space when I began working and the rest/peace emerged midway through the process of painting this one.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Claudia McGill December 1, 2015 at 12:23 pm #

        I love how just doing art can make that happen to your mind. People don’t believe me when I say I do art for the act of doing it and I’m not so interested in it afterwards as I am when making it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. memadtwo December 1, 2015 at 4:17 pm #

    This has a very zebra feel to me. And wonderful movement. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gretl feeson December 1, 2015 at 7:01 pm #

    I really like this, really cool.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rustic Womble December 11, 2015 at 6:31 pm #

    Although I do like this piece because you have lighter areas which allows rest, I’m not a fan of brown as a colour. Its too dull for me, unless its broken up like you have done with this. If I was made to use a limited
    palette involving brown, I’m not sure I could create anything I was pleased with. (Maybe thats a challenge I could break through with this weekend, ha!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply December 12, 2015 at 4:21 am #

      It was a challenge for me to to stick with just the brown hues but I had a lot of fun with this one. I’ll look forward to seeing what you come up with!

      Like

Leave a Reply

