Untitled 1620-12 (2015)

10 Nov

untitled-1620-12.edd.11.10.2015

I was reflecting this morning and I feel like I am in this space with my work that feels so real, so good, and so true.  I feel like there is this enormous temptation as an artist to compare yourself with others which leads to feeling like your work doesn’t measure up (whatever that means in this entirely subjective world of art anyway).  I have a style (though it seems to be ever emerging and ever transforming) and I accept that I am who I am as an artist and I am pleased with the art I’m producing right now.  Ask me tomorrow and I may feel differently, lol!

(Acrylic on paper, Nov. 2015)

7 Responses to “Untitled 1620-12 (2015)”

  1. Sand Salt Moon November 10, 2015 at 3:47 pm #

    I can see this feeling reflected in your work. Keep “doing you.” That’s what a friend told me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply November 10, 2015 at 4:47 pm #

      Thank you so much! I do try to just allow what ever is in me & whatever I’m feeling emerge as I’m painting. I just want whatever I do to be real.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Claudia McGill November 10, 2015 at 8:03 pm #

    Your post said it all. Keep going on the path that suits you and your art will always be a pleasure to you, and that’s why you are doing it, right?

    I enjoy your adventurous spirit.

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply November 10, 2015 at 8:05 pm #

      Claudia you’re absolutely right! The fact that anyone else connects to it or finds that it resonates with something inside them is the bonus for sure!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. memadtwo November 10, 2015 at 8:15 pm #

    My co-blogger Kerfe always tells me not to compare/belittle myself. I love your work and it seems to me to be very honest and real. N.

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply November 10, 2015 at 8:18 pm #

      Oh thank you, I love that! Really appreciate your words. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

