Untitled 1620-2 (2015)

29 Oct

untitled 1620-2.edd.10.29.2015

One of the things I love about Jean Michael Basquiat was his use of white on solid colors.  The white on black sections of this piece absolutely take their cue from the works of Basquiat.  Additionally, sometimes I wrestle with generating so much art so frequently.

During my married years so much of my creative self was locked away, even imprisoned by the demands of life and expectations of others.  I guess my brush has more than a decade and a half of making up to do-hence the prolifery of work emerging from this artist and shared with the world.

I hope my viewers know I long for their honest feedback and genuine assessments of my work.  If something sucks please call me out.  I don’t have to publish everything I make on this blog & I don’t always publish every piece-but if it connects with me I love seeing how it connects with you.  Thanks for listening, lol!!

(Acrylic on paper, Oct. 2015)

6 Responses to “Untitled 1620-2 (2015)”

  1. MILINKOVIC October 29, 2015 at 5:08 pm #

    So much power in this – feels Mayan, and totally unique. Difficult to stop looking at this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply October 29, 2015 at 5:10 pm #

      Wow, thank you so much! Really appreciate your comment and love hearing how it connects!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Matt Schinner October 29, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

    I can see the Jean Michael Basquiat. It also has a Keith Haring feel to it. Which is always a good thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kendreart October 29, 2015 at 11:17 pm #

    Learning from each other and sharing with each other is a beautiful gift. I will definitely look up Basquiat and Haring. Thanks, please keep blogging your stuff, I love the prolifery – you are fresh and I am learning.

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply October 29, 2015 at 11:39 pm #

      Hi there! I agree that there is something so beautiful in the exchange with each other. Basquiat & Haring were both pioneers of artistic bravery & I greatly admire their works & accomplishments. Both of their lives were cut way too short but the beauty of artistic endeavor is how one’s work can live on & continue to inspire. Thanks again for your thoughtful comment, you inspire me too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

