Smell the Flowers (2015)

22 Oct

smelltheflowers.edd.10.22.2015

As I was painting the lines started revealing the image of a face on the far right of the piece and I loved the strong, classical appearance of the face and I decided to paint a flower close by so it looked like this person was enjoying its beautiful aroma.  Once again, no agenda and what emerged surprised and delighted me!

(Acrylic on paper, Oct. 2015)

12 Responses to “Smell the Flowers (2015)”

  1. Claudia McGill October 22, 2015 at 9:02 pm #

    I think this is one of my favorites. I love the bold style and the face and the flower for the reasons you described. A happy accident and the ability to know what to do with it. That’s what we are hoping for in art, I think, or at least I am!

    Liked by 2 people

    • said-simply October 22, 2015 at 9:27 pm #

      Claudia thank you what a wonderful and lovely comment. I agree there is something so tantalizing about seeing an image emerge while you’re painting; it sort of gives the whole piece it’s sense of direction and purpose.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. kendreart October 22, 2015 at 11:32 pm #

    My favourite also, I just love your style. Do you remember Mr. Squiggle, things would emerge from his work too – but of course that was scripted. Your posts make me smile, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply October 23, 2015 at 4:27 am #

      Aww, your comment is so sweet, thank you! I am not familiar with Mr. Squiggle. I think anything that helps art curious people learn to embrace the process of creating is such a valuable tool. I may have to youtube Mr. Squiggle. So glad my posts connect with you 🙂

      Like

  3. Tania Tome M de Castro October 23, 2015 at 12:14 am #

    You have a good title for this painting. I loved the painting.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bantleart November 19, 2015 at 12:49 pm #

    Eli, what a wonderful surprise to see the face and exemplify it by adding the flower. It’s always so much fun to see what happens when you work freely and expressively. I enjoyed seeing this and your explanation of how it came about. Nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply November 19, 2015 at 1:33 pm #

      Thank you, those happy accidents add to the delight the creative process.

      Like

  5. bantleart November 20, 2015 at 2:25 pm #

    Eli, I am honored that you are following my blog. Thanks so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. latherton877 November 21, 2015 at 5:32 pm #

    Glad you liked the Modern Art (What is it?) blog. Judging by your recent work (Smell the flowers.) , you have an innate understanding of abstraction and Picasso/Miro, etc.—press on! I love your clean and well designed web site. Mine is a mess. I am new to WordPress and since retired without a tech to help me! Many Art Historians are fine art drop-outs plus those design classes were a long time ago. I may be changing my moniker.

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply November 22, 2015 at 7:12 am #

      Thank you for commenting & for taking the time to view some of my work. I very much appreciate your comment. Read your most recent article and really enjoyed it. I look forward to future posts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

