Bold (2015)

22 Sep

bold.edd.09.21.2015

So I started this piece with this chaotic under-layer of lines going everywhere in this discontinuous progression of ink swirls.  I started shading in some of the line areas and some great shapes started to emerge.  I decided to go mono-chromatic with this piece to draw out the beauty of the emerging lines.  I love seeing new work come to life and take shape.  I feel like I go into every piece ready to let it just happen without a definitive idea where its going or what kind of result I want to achieve.

(Watercolor & ink on cold-pressed paper, Sept. 2015)

10 Responses to “Bold (2015)”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) September 22, 2015 at 1:53 pm #

    Really love this one, Eli! I’d love to see a color version, but this monochrome is very nice also.

    Like

  2. Claudia McGill September 22, 2015 at 6:32 pm #

    I like this in monochrome. There is only so much that each piece can contain and I think color would send it over the edge. I really like this one.

    Liked by 2 people

    • said-simply September 23, 2015 at 5:06 am #

      Claudia, great insight on this piece! Thanks so much for your comment.

      Like

  3. artandmoondreams September 22, 2015 at 9:53 pm #

    Beautiful. The monochromatic color scheme really allows the composition and design to take center stage. Nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply September 23, 2015 at 5:07 am #

      Yes, yes, yes! Great comment and exactly what struck me about this piece too! Thank you very much for your feedback!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. kevincameronartist October 27, 2015 at 3:48 pm #

    To me, this one has a mid-century or early sixties feel to it. I like it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply October 27, 2015 at 3:52 pm #

      Kevin thank you so much I really appreciate the comment and I also appreciate you taking time to look at my work. I enjoyed viewing your work and plan on frequenting your site to see what you’re up to.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

