Petal (2015)

18 Sep

Petal.edd.09.18.2015

A nature inspired piece.  I used watercolor pencils and q-tips to spread the paint.  I am so pleased with the result.  The painting conveys a softness I would expect from pastels not watercolor.  The q-tips smooth out the paint and simultaneously blend the lines of paint so some really cool things happen.  Gosh, I love just trying things for fun and getting a surprising result.  Nothing beats painting and the watercolor medium.  Very much hope you enjoy and always hope viewers of my work are sparked with new inspiration for their own work or to believe they can paint as well even if they’ve never once picked up a brush or a q-tip, lol!

(watercolor pencils, Sept. 2015)

2 Responses to “Petal (2015)”

  1. desertblues September 22, 2015 at 1:51 pm #

    I find this a beautiful use of different media!

    Liked by 1 person

    • said-simply September 22, 2015 at 2:00 pm #

      Thank you so much, I really appreciate your comment. It was a fun piece to do and definitely had me nervous having never spread paint with q-tips before. I love the way it softened the lines!

      Like

Leave a Reply

