Evening Sky (2014)

25 Aug

eveningsky.edd.02.26.2014

Painted in Feb. 2014.  An artist friend of mine has been asking me what made me lean toward abstraction rather than realism in my work.  I told her that it is because there is not much passion in realism for me but that abstraction engages my senses, passion, and creativity like no other form of painting.  Here is a rare attempt at a realistic painting.  Never posted it mostly because I thought it was pretty bad.

12 Responses to “Evening Sky (2014)”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) August 25, 2015 at 9:15 pm #

    I think as an abstract-realism piece, it works pretty well!

    Like

    • said-simply August 25, 2015 at 9:16 pm #

      Why thank you! I like that description because it isn’t highly detailed but the viewer can see what I was aiming for!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) August 25, 2015 at 9:21 pm #

        Exactly, and it’s somewhat stylized, so it adds interest as an abstract piece, I think. My very unschooled opinion lol.

        How are you liking Studio6?

        Like

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) August 25, 2015 at 9:35 pm #

        *ugh society6

        Like

      • said-simply August 26, 2015 at 2:43 am #

        Hi Laura, well I appreciate your opinion! I pulled out of Society6. Format wasn’t working too well for me.

        Like

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) August 28, 2015 at 12:11 am #

        Sorry to hear it. I’m really enjoying your work!

        Like

      • said-simply August 28, 2015 at 2:34 am #

        I have a local print maker who I send orders to now. If you ever see something I do that you’d like I’ll be happy to quote prices for originals or prints. Mostly, I just appreciate your interest in my work & your honest feedback, always grateful to hear how my work is connecting with you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) August 28, 2015 at 2:42 am #

        I’d like to do more abstract work myself and you inspire me! I do have a new one posting in the morning. The colors are very vibrant, maybe too much for some, but I’ll be dying to see how it’s received. I’m glad you found a printer, so you can carry on with your sales. Looking forward to seeing more.

        Like

      • said-simply August 28, 2015 at 2:43 am #

        Cool, can’t wait to see your new piece! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) August 28, 2015 at 2:47 am #

        Thanks!!

        Like

  2. gretal feeson September 4, 2015 at 12:54 pm #

    I really like this

    Like

Leave a Reply

