Collaboration (2014)

25 Nov

Collaboration.11.22.14

My 8 year old daughter, Lydia, and I painted this over the weekend.  She was visiting my home and our creative natures combined to make a very enjoyable painting.  🙂  When we were adding some splashes of paint splatter to the painting we had a cute dialogue about what one can and can’t do with art.  When I started to add paint splatter on the piece she looked up and said, “You can do that?”  I said, “Oh, yeah!”  And she started joining me with this huge grin on her face.  She was like, “Do you think that’s too much?”  I said, “Not if you don’t!”  And we kept splattering for a while.

I love her innocence and excitement at trying something with art that seems outside the normal rules.  You know, when you color in coloring books you’re told to stay inside the lines.  I want her to be a critical, outside the lines of the normal expectations kind of thinker.  Maybe this was a positive step in that direction for her.  Either way, it was a lovely time well-spent!

6 Responses to “Collaboration (2014)”

  1. idoartkarenrobinson November 25, 2014 at 7:46 pm #

    What a great idea and the art work will hold dear memories…warm regards Karen

    Like

    • said-simply November 25, 2014 at 10:47 pm #

      Karen, thank you so much for your comment. I really hope so, I want her to live and not worry about the “lines” that people draw for her or boxes they might try to tell her she has to live in. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cherilyn SunRidge November 26, 2014 at 2:51 pm #

    I like it!

    Like

  3. Claudia McGill November 26, 2014 at 6:35 pm #

    I have spent several wonderful days over the past couple of years doing collage with a friend and her three kids. They are some of the best memories I can think of. And I feel great that in a small way I’ve passed on my love of what I am doing to others. I think this was a wonderful post and I also think the two of you might consider collaborating more – what a nice artwork you created!

    Like

    • said-simply November 26, 2014 at 6:52 pm #

      Aww, Claudia that is a wonderful story and sounds like a rewarding and enriching experience. I love doing art with my children. Art gives us permission to create and explore and feel and express and what comes out is always such a joy. Thank you so much for your lovely comment, truly grateful you took the time to share this! I agree she and I do need to collaborate again soon! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

