Image

Section (Abstract)

6 May

section.edd.05.05.2014

A new piece.  Emerged from an earlier pen & ink sketch I was working on.  I think there are some interesting things to look at in this one.  Colors are uniquely mixed from stuff I had hanging out in my palette after a my last couple paintings.  Not sure I’m done with the solid black section in top left quadrant.  Might add some thin lines mirroring the shape of the thicker one.  A work in progress I suppose.

10 Responses to “Section (Abstract)”

  1. I like the black. Drawn to it, actually. This is nice. I find myself taking different routes each time. Bummer there’s no circles. 🙂
    J/K

    Like

  2. pixieknucklecracker May 6, 2014 at 7:14 am #

    The first thing I thought of when I saw this was reflections on water. Not too sure about the thick black lines right now, if I’m honest because they keep drawing me away from the right hand side which I prefer to look at.(I think because the black is such a contrast to the other harmonious colours) But as you say, its a work in progress, so I’m curious to see what else you plan to do on this. 😀 I do like your palette though.

    Like

    • said-simply May 6, 2014 at 12:47 pm #

      Thank you so much for your honest and thoughtful feedback. I’m drawn to the right half of the painting too and feel the harshness of the black line needs something else. Really appreciate your comment!

      Like

  3. noyoupay May 6, 2014 at 7:53 am #

    I love how abstract offers itself to interpretation. I also am intrigued by how the human mind can universally gravitate towards the same thing. The black! It would be boring without the black! What are those lines saying? They are monumental to the piece.

    Like

    • said-simply May 6, 2014 at 12:48 pm #

      Wow, that is some great insight. Thank you for adding that thought into the mix. I hadn’t considered the importance of the black line to the piece in the way you’ve described it here. Great comment, much appreciated!

      Like

  4. Kylli May 15, 2014 at 5:17 am #

    abstract indeed 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

