Image

Oblique (Abstract)

10 Apr

oblique.edd.04.09.2014

There are so many different ways my eyes have wandered through this painting.  Sometimes the lines look like they’ve been folded over; sometimes I see them as having dimension.  The color palette just emerged as I was painting.  The green surprised me.  I’m not even sure what I mixed to get that tone to emerge but I think it fits the composition of the painting well.  More exploration of the interplay between line, shape, and color.  Fun stuff!

4 Responses to “Oblique (Abstract)”

  1. Hollis Hildebrand-Mills April 10, 2014 at 4:31 pm #

    Nice! I like the way you make the spaces you have “colored” uneven. When they are incased in those sharp black lines, (which are so straight and even) it’s a nice contrast. If you had not said anything about the green, I wouldn’t have noticed it. The red is dominant. You probably needed the green. (To counteract it)

    Like

    • said-simply April 10, 2014 at 4:44 pm #

      Thank you so much Hollis! I love how the bold line frames in the piece. I think it really helps enhance the color; the color enhances the line. You’re right the green really does help counteract the red! Good observation, thanks.

      Like

  2. FreeRangeCow April 21, 2014 at 11:17 pm #

    It definitely draws me toward the center! Like “falling into it.”

    Like

    • said-simply April 22, 2014 at 3:03 am #

      Great way of describing your viewing experience. I really like that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

