Image

Layer (Abstract)

6 Mar

layer.edd.03.04.2014

 

I started this painting by washing the background with a couple distinct colors but yellow is predominant. Then I painted an initial design and kept adding successive layers of color inside the design matching it closely but with some variation. The result is this painting.

12 Responses to “Layer (Abstract)”

  1. FreeRangeCow March 6, 2014 at 2:59 pm #

    I curious, texture-wise…does watercolor “layer” the way oil does? This is beautiful!

    Like

    • said-simply March 6, 2014 at 3:25 pm #

      I’m not sure exactly because I’ve never painted with oils but it makes sense that they would layer differently texture wise. Thanks for the kind comment!

      Like

      • FreeRangeCow March 6, 2014 at 3:27 pm #

        When you rub the surface of your watercolors, do you feel raised texture? I kinda think no cuz of how it’s mostly water…

        Like

      • said-simply March 6, 2014 at 3:31 pm #

        Right not unless I intentionally use less water to create that texture feel. Tomorrow I’m posting a watercolor that has that texture feel.

        Like

  2. Heartafire March 6, 2014 at 3:00 pm #

    You are inspiring me! Must paint.

    Like

    • said-simply March 6, 2014 at 3:26 pm #

      Wonderful! I’ll watch for you to post some work.

      Like

      • Hollis Hildebrand-Mills March 6, 2014 at 11:36 pm #

        I like this. On my phone the bottom was cut off. At first ( seeing it this way) I did not like it. But your fine sense of design and composition showed itself when the piece came into full view.

        Like

      • said-simply March 6, 2014 at 11:40 pm #

        Ah thank you so much Hollis! Hey I sold my first painting through my online store. What a cool & humbling experience!

        Like

      • Hollis Hildebrand-Mills March 7, 2014 at 1:20 am #

        I like the cool part. The humbling part? Were they idiots? And trying to get you to reduce your price? Anyway congratulations! I have never done that. See it pays to get yourself out there!

        Like

      • said-simply March 7, 2014 at 2:06 am #

        Actually they paid my asking price no questions asked. I was surprised that anyone would actually want to own something I painted. It is thrilling to know one of my pieces has a new home in another state. Thanks much!

        Like

  3. kateyaustinart March 7, 2014 at 9:24 pm #

    Great colors and movement, feel free to check out my work at http://www.kateyaustin.com, Cheers!

    Like

    • said-simply March 8, 2014 at 2:18 am #

      Thanks Katey! I went to your site briefly. Your work intrigues me. I need to spend some more time exploring it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

