Image

Rondelles (Abstract)

27 Dec

rondelles.edd.12.26.2013

This one came together in my thoughts and then I sketched it out.  Wasn’t sure what to do with it and then the idea of a series of colors that became a noticeable pattern came to mind.  I love these cute little round guys.  Not sure why, I just find them appealing.  I think they look like the little balls on an abacus.  My girlfriend, to whom I owe the name of the painting, says they remind her of Fruit Loops (super sugary Kellogg’s breakfast cereal here in the U.S.).  I forgot all about Fruit Loops.  Loved them as a kid.  Especially loved how they turned my bowl of milk into a sugary nectar!  Hope everyone’s holidays have been wonderful!  Create all the way into the New Year and beyond!

14 Responses to “Rondelles (Abstract)”

  1. Jane Lurie December 28, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    Fruit Loops…they also remind me of those candy necklaces… Terrific artwork.

    Like

    • said-simply December 28, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

      Oh yes the ones with the stretchy cord so you could wear & eat! Thanks for the kind comment & for coming by!

      Like

  2. donegallizdoyle January 10, 2014 at 1:21 pm #

    I”ve just been browsing through your posts in an idle sort of post Christmas way, after just talking on the phone to my daughter, who is incidentally trying out some sketches to maybe submit to a publisher, and I came across this doodle and your lovely words about ‘create intonthe newvyear and beyond’Inspired me to fish out some paper and do some doodling / sketching on paper. Sometimes the whole rigmarole of oils and canvas in a cold damp studio is just too much, and so I do nothing. Thank you!Maybe some photos later. Liz

    Like

    • said-simply January 10, 2014 at 1:42 pm #

      Hi Liz! I am really moved by that. Reading others blogs and viewing the art others post has been a wonderful source of inspiration for me as well. I look forward to seeing what comes out of this for you!

      Like

      • donegallizdoyle January 11, 2014 at 10:25 am #

        thanks to your inspirational blog I now have a new category – 5 minute doodles – great for loosening up before painting. have a great week end, Liz

        Like

      • said-simply January 11, 2014 at 11:48 am #

        Thank you! I will check them out. Thanks also for the recent reblog.

        Like

  3. donegallizdoyle January 10, 2014 at 3:11 pm #

    Reblogged this on donegallizdoyle and commented:
    this post by said simply was my inspiration for my new post and category : 5minute doodles, thank you!

    Like

  4. Y. Prior January 23, 2014 at 9:20 pm #

    well I thought Cheerios! but I really like what you did with the color – how it crosses over grid and the line sod color throughout the piece – on the diagonal like that – give it more interest – so we have the circle thing going on – the grid feel with each square – and section – but when you stand back you almost get movement with those slanted lines of colors that cross over. like it a lot.

    and if I was using this to show students ideas (I am not teaching right now – so this is just if) well this is the piece that I would have them see up close, but also stand back to view – to feel the way you cleverly lined up the colors.

    lastly, the pastel feel and light watercolors give it a warm feel – and that turquoise line almost running through the center – almost lights up the whole piece and anchors the rest of the lines of color.

    very creative piece

    Like

    • said-simply January 24, 2014 at 1:03 pm #

      Thank you so much, I’m really grateful for your thoughtful feedback. This is really instructive and helpful.

      Like

  5. Y. Prior January 24, 2014 at 12:38 pm #

    I would like to feature this piece on my Tuesday art blog – is this okay?

    Like

    • said-simply January 24, 2014 at 1:04 pm #

      Yes, please do. I’m honored that you’d consider doing so!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rondelles (Abstract) | donegallizdoyle - January 10, 2014

    […] Rondelles (Abstract). […]

    Like

  2. Cereal Art (and artist EDD) | Tuesday Art - January 24, 2014

    […] out this refreshing piece of art from EDD on SAIDSIMPLY blog, which looks like Fruit Loops or colored […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

