Image

Boxes (Abstract)

18 Dec

boxes.edd.12.17.2013

 

Started sketching this one and liked how the shapes were interacting.  Then I decided I would only paint the areas that didn’t overlap with other shapes.  This is the end result.

6 Responses to “Boxes (Abstract)”

  1. FreeRangeCow December 18, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    Wow! It is cool. I can’t place my finger on it, but it’s very pleasing. Soothing. Who would have thought a bunch of corners would be so soothing?

    Like

    • said-simply December 18, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

      I know I had a very similar impression after viewing it when I completed the painting. I like how some of the angled boxes seem to magnify what is beneath. Thanks for the comment, I always enjoy it when you take the time to share feedback on my work!

      Like

  2. Charlotte Hoather December 18, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

    I do drawings like this too, I colour them in but the colours can’t touch 😉

    Like

    • said-simply December 18, 2013 at 11:39 pm #

      Interesting Charlotte, I’ll have to try that approach! I really appreciate you stopping by and commenting. I imagine this is a busy season for you. Have you been performing lots?

      Like

      • Charlotte Hoather December 19, 2013 at 10:10 am #

        No sadly had to cancel six concerts, tonsillitis with Quincey on top! Working on getting back to normal now 😉

        Like

      • said-simply December 19, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

        Oh goodness I’m sorry you’re not feeling well. You seem to be in your element when you perform. I’m sure this has been a difficult stretch. Well wishes for your speedy recovery!

        Like

Leave a Reply

