Image

Ma Chere

6 Dec

machere(chair).edd.12.05.2013

 

My girlfriend’s beauty was the inspiration for this one.  She is a work of art, inside & out!  Her curves, her neck, her legs, her hair.  Where do I begin and where does my appreciation end?  A lovely being deserves to be painted and admired!

4 Responses to “Ma Chere”

  1. acuriousgal December 6, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

    Just beautiful!

    Like

  2. Hollis Hildebrand-Mills December 7, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    The fact that we cannot see her face is something more than mysterious about this drawing. Apart from it being about the one you love (and a fine present to her, BTW), the drawing on its own: I like the fact that you have blurred the butt. Making it come forward in the picture plane. I like the same thing about the foot. It’s small and therefore it recedes. It’s also interesting that you have her in this position. A personal drawing, we can tell, but an odd position. Even for a model you don’t know. Therefore intriguing. Your girlfriend must be thrilled you posted this! Good work!

    Like

    • said-simply December 7, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

      Hollis, I always look forward to your astute and thoughtful comments. Your artistic feedback on this one is very helpful. The way I positioned her is evocative but it is also a function of space. I paint on 6×9″ watercolor paper and I really wanted to have her hands cupping her head in back and her arms crossed a little more, but I’m happy with what turned out (it is as you say different than conventional poses). I was painting this without her present so I was in a space in my mind where I was reflecting on my own perception of her beauty and her body. When I shared this painting with her I asked if she’d be okay with me posting it and she said she’d be happy for me to. She is naturally very beautiful and I admire the beautiful person she is entirely! Thanks again for your great comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

