Image

Still Life (Match pack)

21 Nov

matchespack.edd.11.21.2013

 

I am planning on posting some still life illustrations of very simple, everyday kinds of things.  When I see this it evokes strong memories for me.  My Mom’s father always smoked a pipe and the aroma of the pipe smoke was admittedly very pleasant.  I can remember my grandpa’s hands pulling a match from the pack and then striking the match on the little strip and then lighting his pipe, puffing and drawing to get the tobacco lit just right.  Though I smoked for a stint, I have been successfully smoke free for a couple years now and am not an advocate of smoking.  But I am greatly drawn to images that connect me to my story, and this is one of them.

4 Responses to “Still Life (Match pack)”

  1. Ingidisa/Jiuhl November 21, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    I understand your nostalgia. My grandpa was a smoker of cigarettes he rolled himself, and there were always those little, paper packs of matches around my grandparents’ house. I remember them available just about everywhere, especially gas stations and hotels. I think I still have a couple matchbooks with logos on them in a drawer somewhere. This one of 7up is pretty cool.

    Like

    • said-simply November 21, 2013 at 11:49 pm #

      Amazing how entrenched in sights and smells our memories are! Thanks very much for the comment.

      Like

  2. The Hidden Violet November 25, 2013 at 2:29 pm #

    Wow at last I found a blog that interests me. I think your idea of capturing simple objects that inspire is perfect. People need to pay attention to the simple and small everyday stuff, I think they hold the true essence of art.

    Like

    • said-simply November 25, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

      Thank you so much I totally agree. So glad you came by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

