Image

Green Sea

20 Nov

greensea.edd.11.19.2013

 

I love the turmoil of the open sea.  It is both chaotic and beautiful at the same time.  The sea can move from placid to turbulent in an instant.  Isn’t life a bit like the sea: unpredictable, discomforting (at times), beautiful, uncertain, peaceful, quiet, wild, gentle, clamorous?  I don’t group all the positive adjectives describing life together nor all the negative adjectives together because we don’t experience life that way.  A single day can include a multiplicity of opposing feelings, experiences, and encounters.  Life is like the sea.

12 Responses to “Green Sea”

  1. Hollis Hildebrand-Mills November 20, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    I agree. I do know you did a good job drawing the ocean. I tried in Nantucket last summer and to look at my paper, all you see is straight lines back and forth. I thought: How do I improve on that? (Looking at the water) You managed to make it look different and yet LIKE the ocean.

    Like

    • said-simply November 20, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

      I am determined to be a good “water” painter! 🙂 I love trying to capture the beauty and unpredictability of the sea. Funny how something so tumultuous is for many of us a source of peace and reflection. I grew up sailing and have stories of being out on the water when a storm erupts and the boat takes on water or having to crash it into the rocks to get out of unsafe conditions. But I love those times and those memories are treasures!

      Like

      • Hollis Hildebrand-Mills November 20, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

        They sound wonderful. Scary at the time, but wonderful !

        Like

      • said-simply November 20, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

        That’s true! There were some adrenaline spiking moments out there. But its one of the places I most bonded with my father and for that I’m so thankful!

        Like

      • Hollis Hildebrand-Mills November 20, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

        🙂

        Like

  2. FreeRangeCow November 20, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    So freakin’ true! Excellent post! Art mimicking life, for sure!

    Like

    • said-simply November 20, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

      Thank you! It seems like art almost necessarily mimics life in that as an avenue of human expression what we most deeply feel and treasure comes out in our art. I always appreciate your thoughtful comments! You get cow bailed out of jail yet? 🙂

      Like

      • FreeRangeCow November 20, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

        LOL…no, I need a vacation. Cow stays put. ;oP I often comment to hubby that great art comes from a deep deep place…good and bad. Like a phoenix rising from the flames!

        Like

      • said-simply November 20, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

        Lol! Cow has it pretty good from what I can tell! Totally agree, isn’t that what draws us to other’s art? The depth of expression, the passion, the pain, the reality. Good stuff!

        Like

  3. acuriousgal November 21, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    Love this, as always!!!

    Like

  4. Moore to ponder January 11, 2014 at 12:42 pm #

    I appreciate what you said here in your description. I like the painting, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

