Image

Autumn Woods

10 Nov

autumnwoods.edd.10.12.2013

 

I know we’re out of peak autumn leaf season, and I’ve been archiving this one for a while but I think it still fits the season.  This scene just entered my mind one day and this painting emerged.  I used to have a place in the Mohican Forest in Ohio that had large rocks like this that I would spend hours reading on.  I miss my little rock perch sometimes, it was a great place of solitude and peacefulness.

16 Responses to “Autumn Woods”

  1. acuriousgal November 10, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    Beautiful

    Like

  2. Hollis Hildebrand-Mills November 10, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    I think this one has a more complete composition than the other things you have done. I like the rock in practically the center of the page with the shadow of it being a lighter color. Really nice! Glad you saved it for us!

    Like

    • said-simply November 10, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

      Hollis I appreciate getting your perspective on this to know how what it conveys not just artistically but from a technique perspective too!

      Like

  3. atkokosplace November 10, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

    Everyone needs a perching spot!

    Like

    • said-simply November 10, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

      Agreed! Do you have a favorite?

      Like

      • atkokosplace November 10, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

        I do. My back yard. I only need to open the door and I can already feel myself relax. The trees, the plants, and even the dirt rejuvenate me.

        Like

      • said-simply November 10, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

        That’s cool! The aesthetics of space/location really do connect with a deeply embedded core place in each of us. Its amazing how some spaces do nothing for me and others light me up in the most energizing way.

        Like

  4. vicbriggs November 10, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

    How lovely 🙂

    Like

  5. Sarah Zoutewelle-Morris November 15, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    I really like this one.

    Like

  6. violetski November 16, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    Great sketch!

    Like

  7. Moore to ponder January 11, 2014 at 2:22 pm #

    I love to spend time in places like that…to retreat into the dappled shady places with golden sunshine filtering through them…highlighting certain spots. This lovely painting took me there. I really like the way you did the leaves that are both on the ground and also on the trees.

    Like

Leave a Reply

