E. Hemingway (A sketch)

5 Nov

hemingwaysketch.edd.11.04.2013

Ernest Hemingway is perhaps one of the 20th century’s best-known creative masters.  While his life was a mixture of torment and triumph he remains a fascinating individual.  His face alone conveys the drama of his life.  I have been reading Paula McClain’s novel, “The Paris Wife,” which gives delicious insight into Hemingway’s early life and career with wife Hadley (Richardson) living among the trendy, ex-pat community in Paris (in the 18th arrondissement Montmartre, a haven for creative types in that era).

10 Responses to “E. Hemingway (A sketch)”

  1. Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister November 5, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

    Our book club read The Paris Wife a few months ago. I have to say, hands down, the best 4 hour discussion I’ve had in a long time. Wow! So very interesting, what a life they had together. To vacation as they did, with no money…lol! How did they do it? 😀 I would have loved to have been in on some of those conversations he had with his friends.

    When you can, you should read his short story, Hills Like White Elephants. Then read the info on the symbolism. Shocking and another crazy look into how his mind worked.

    Like

    • said-simply November 5, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

      I so agree, the McClain book is simply outstanding. I will read that short story. I’m interested in learning about his life and personality; such a fascinating person to me!

      Like

      • Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister November 5, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

        We were all ready to just dive into a short series of books about him, even take a few trips to learn more about where he lived. Enjoy your Hemmingway Journey!! Keep us posted.

        Like

    • said-simply November 5, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

      Also, I think the other thing McClain does so brilliantly is that she puts you inside that relationship. You feel like you are journeying with them as they live their lives. If that is one of the litmus tests for great writing she succeeded. I felt like I was with them when they were out with friends like Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald or sitting in Gertrude Stein’s parlor. Amazing book!

      Like

      • Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister November 5, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

        I think that’s what I loved the most, too. I would have loved to have had my coffee with them in the morning, and my tequila in the living room at night, all the while watching him box. Haha. Yes, those were the friends I was thinking of. It’s been a few months, so their names escaped me. I don’t know if you’ve finished or not, but I’d be curious to know at what point did you see the change in their relationship begin? How fun, yes amazing.

        Like

  2. acuriousgal November 5, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    I read, Paris Wife, too!! Very interesting life. Now I need to read his works!! Great sketch!

    Like

    • said-simply November 5, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

      Agreed, you get the sense that his time with Hadley was in so many ways the best and truest! Thanks I’m not a great sketch artist but it was fun to try.

      Like

  3. Hollis Hildebrand-Mills November 5, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    This looks like Hemingway before he got his “Key West look.” I like the way you do eyes.

    Like

    • said-simply November 5, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

      Thanks Hollis! For me capturing eyes correctly is akin to capturing a person’s essence. I so appreciate your comments and feedback!

      Like

Leave a Reply

