Image

Great Places: Montmartre (Le fournil du Village, boulangerie)

2 Nov

greatplaces.bakery.montmartre.edd.10.29.2013

 

My love for baked goods and unique places merge perfectly with this one!

29 Responses to “Great Places: Montmartre (Le fournil du Village, boulangerie)”

  1. Hollis Hildebrand-Mills November 2, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    I have said this before, but I love your line. It is a little childlike and at the same time, sophisticated. Glad drawing a pastry shop makes you happy! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • said-simply November 2, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

      Hollis that is the best comment! I love baked goods and pastries especially! I appreciate your comments about my work. I appreciate that people detect a whimsical, childlike quality to my work. I do usually tackle enough detail to make it resemble something close to the original, but with the Eli spin! Thanks again.

      Like

  2. vicbriggs November 2, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    How I miss Paris! And I didn’t know it until I came across your post πŸ™‚

    Like

    • said-simply November 2, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

      I’m glad for that! πŸ™‚

      Like

    • said-simply November 2, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

      I’m glad it evoked happy memories of time in Paris!

      Like

      • vicbriggs November 2, 2013 at 3:59 pm #

        It did, said-simply, it did. I could almost smell the fresh offerings of the boulangerie πŸ™‚

        Like

      • said-simply November 2, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

        How glorious!

        Like

      • vicbriggs November 2, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

        Alas… due to a busy schedule in the coming months I doubt that I shall be able to enjoy the real thing before next year.

        Like

      • said-simply November 2, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

        Ah, but knowing you will return provides some solace for baguette withdrawl! πŸ™‚

        Like

      • vicbriggs November 2, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

        haha That is certainly does.

        Like

  3. watercoloristramblings November 2, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    glad you liked my pretty in pink, you have an interesting site, love the bakery, never been to France but feel as though I know it thru your painting

    Like

  4. worldofparis November 2, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

    Yeaaaah, you painted it, awesome job πŸ™‚ It really makes me happy. I saw immediately that it was this bakery from Paris: http://worldofparis.wordpress.com/2013/10/22/bakeryparis/

    Like

    • said-simply November 2, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

      Hey glad you saw it! Kinda quirky but its painted. Its been fun discovering people’s reaction to it. How are things in grand ole Paris?

      Like

  5. TheCrazyBagLady November 2, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    nice painting! I love pastries. Would love to be in Paris to try this one

    Like

  6. Jackie Cangro November 2, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    If I get to Paris someday, I hope to eat a pastry in a place just like this. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • said-simply November 2, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

      Would be so good! Thanks for the comment! Are you a bread & pastry person? Lord knows I am. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Jackie Cangro November 3, 2013 at 11:52 pm #

        Most definitely! I’ve never met a pastry I didn’t like. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • said-simply November 4, 2013 at 4:10 am #

        Pain au chocolat is a favorite!

        Like

  7. Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister November 3, 2013 at 12:50 am #

    Oh my. Now taunting with a fantastic drawing of a pastry shop I’d never be able to leave. This is so great. You are very talented.

    Like

    • said-simply November 3, 2013 at 2:06 am #

      Wow, that is incredibly kind of you. And I agree, you’d never get me out of there!

      Like

      • donegallizdoyle November 3, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

        our local supermarket has just opened an on site bakery, with croissants / scones / crusty bread still warm from the ovens – here’s to several more inches on my waistline, sampled all 3 already this morning πŸ™‚
        Love your bakery painting, especially like the cobbled paving. Reminds me of that famous Hopper painting somehow, and that’s a compliment!

        Like

      • said-simply November 3, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

        Wow, if I was there I’d have been right with you! Pastry love, it’s a good thing! Thanks also for the very kind comment. Means a lot coming from an artist whose work I appreciate and am challenged by.

        Like

      • donegallizdoyle November 3, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

        thanks, must get off computer and go and do some more (eating probably, rather than painting – 6 hours in each of the 2 days workshops was quite enough), also have to PACK!! I’m off on Wednesday for 5 WEEKS!!!

        Like

      • said-simply November 3, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

        Six hours over two days would require incredible focus. I imagine coming up for air a bit would be quite nice. So are you traveling for work or on holiday? Either way, enjoy!

        Like

      • donegallizdoyle November 4, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

        more of an adventure really! A bit of a retreat in the middle (10 days silent vipassana, or mindfulness, meditation) with some touristy visiting and some volunteering on an organic hill farm and a few day walks wrapped around it. My daughter, Hannah, went 3 weeks earlier so she could do a big Annapurna trek – she went up to 5500 m! She will meet me in Kathmandu

        Like

      • said-simply November 4, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

        Sounds like a wonderful trip. Those times of silence and meditation can be so refreshing and life giving. How great that you’ll be meeting up with your daughter.

        Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Said-simply painted a photo of my blog. | World of Paris - November 3, 2013

    […] Painting by: Said-simply Click here to view the original painting and see more of his work. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

