Baguettes

26 Oct

baguettes.edd.10.25.2013

I can feel the warmth of the baking stone as I imagine this bread being pulled out of the oven.  I can smell the rich aroma of the bread as it cools filling the kitchen with its nearly edible scent.  The baguette is “anytime” bread.  Its crunch is wonderful, its flavor rich, and its satisfaction undeniable.  Here is an article on the history of French bread: http://foreigndetours.com/baguette-and-french-bread/.  Savourer!

20 Responses to “Baguettes”

  1. Maria October 26, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    Mmmmmmm!!!

    Like

    • said-simply October 26, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

      Agreed! Puts me in the mood to bake. 🙂

      Like

      • Maria October 27, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

        Do you bake as well? 😉

        Like

      • said-simply October 27, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

        Yes but not often enough!

        Like

  2. Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister October 26, 2013 at 8:54 pm #

    Ok, the picture and the description….seriously. Yum. French bread, almost as good as sweet bread. 🙂

    Like

  3. acuriousgal October 26, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

    Perfect, simplistic….love your ode to bread!!!

    Like

  4. atkokosplace October 26, 2013 at 11:58 pm #

    I just made french bread today! There’s something about fresh baked bread that says home! Crunchy crust, soft and tender on the inside, hot butter. Eating more than I should. Not gonna lie a ten mile bike ride followed! Love your picture.

    Like

    • said-simply October 27, 2013 at 12:01 am #

      That’s great! I love cycling too. You’re right about that. This time of year bread just feels right!

      Like

  5. TheFoodNutter October 27, 2013 at 3:59 pm #

    I do not have the space in my kitchen to mix the flour so, I buy part cooked baguettes from Marks & Spencer’s or Sainsbury’s (UK)… cook for about 15 minutes and the smell fills the house. Perfect for Saturday morning breakfasts topped with fried onions and cheese… Yum-MY! PS love your drawings.

    Like

    • said-simply October 27, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

      Ooh, those sound lovely! I love the smell of bread filling the air. Onion and cheese sounds delicious! Thank you for the comment.

      Like

  6. Hollis Hildebrand-Mills October 29, 2013 at 1:20 am #

    I love this one too. Very Very nice!

    Like

    • said-simply October 29, 2013 at 1:28 am #

      Thank you so very much! They look yummy enough to eat if I do say so myself! You knock out some new work today? 🙂

      Like

      • Hollis Hildebrand-Mills October 29, 2013 at 1:37 am #

        No, I’ve been remiss in that department. I took some work to an exhibition though! I guess that’s a good thing in the marketing end of the business!

        Like

      • said-simply October 29, 2013 at 1:48 am #

        Absolutely! So do you provide the overall artistic/aesthetic vision for your exhibits?

        Like

      • Hollis Hildebrand-Mills October 29, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

        This is a show that was juried. I applied and I got in. It’s a group show.

        Like

      • said-simply October 29, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

        Oh that’s cool, good luck!

        Like

      • Hollis Hildebrand-Mills October 29, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

        Thanks!

        Like

      • said-simply October 29, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

        🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

