Sturdy Giant

6 Oct

sturdygiant.edd.10.05.2013

 

Your skin rough, like a sea-hardened sailor.
Endlessly you reach for the sky, soaring the heights.
Your fingers firmly anchored to the earth,
snaking their way deep into the ground below.

Your grandeur and majesty beyond comparison,
nothing dares challenge your sovereign reign.
Alone you take your stand, outshining your diminutive peers
gazing at you in silent reverence.

You immovable giant, whose poised strength
wins the admiration of all who look upon you.
In quiet beauty you rule earth and sky.

4 Responses to “Sturdy Giant”

  1. texastom46 October 11, 2013 at 2:16 am #

    What a beautiful poem! So glad you stopped by my art blog so that I could find you! I have a lifelong love of trees and, like you, am endlessly captivated and inspired by their majesty. I wrote a poem over ten years ago which I just posted on another blog of mine, thinking that perhaps you might appreciate it, especially given the spiritual vision that grounds you. (We have that in common, my friend.) Here is a direct link to that poem: http://texastomruminationsmyblog.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/my-heart-is-a-tree-original-poem/

    If you poke around at all through that blog, you will see that I my postings have been rather sporadic over this past year. But you helped inspire me to add a new one today; so thank you!

    I will look forward to any future give-and-take that ensues.

    Blessings,

    Tom Webber
    http://www.tomwebberartist.wordpress.com
    http://texastomruminationsmyblog.wordpress.com

    Like

    • said-simply October 11, 2013 at 2:41 am #

      Thank you so much! Nature has a way of keeping us connected to our creator. It always reminds me that the God who formed the minutest detail of the tiniest leaf on the most insignificant tree in the forest is the same God who cares for me. I too look forward to sharing our art and ideas about faith and life together. Glad we discovered each other.

      Like

      • texastom46 October 11, 2013 at 4:48 am #

        Likewise, my friend!

        Like

  2. Moore to ponder January 11, 2014 at 4:43 pm #

    Your words and your painting are awe inspiring!

    I have written both a descriptive essay and a poem at both of my blogs that were dedicated to a crape mrytle tree that I named Raina Colette. I would be honored if you could take a look at them.

    http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/?s=Raina+Colette

    http://serenadedinseconds.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/raina-a-poem/

    Like

Leave a Reply

