Art & Acceptance

11 Sep

So I have been exploring painting lately.  I have in a fairly short period of time produced a number of pieces of art primarily via watercolor paints on cold pressed watercolor paper.  I haven’t painted since 6th grade (and I’m almost 40), but there has always been an artist in me.  I allowed life and vocation and other circumstances keep that side of me from emerging and being expressed.  I can’t do that anymore, I am an artist and writer at heart.  The more I paint the more I learn to accept the imperfect.  Many of my pieces have imperfect lines and the way the color disburses on the paper is beyond my control.  I have always felt this pressure to be perfect, to be what other people want.  Art allows me to embrace my imperfections and it is such a freeing experience.  Art is a practice that is helping me to learn acceptance.  It has become such a gift in my life, one I intend to embrace and explore for the rest of it.

4 Responses to “Art & Acceptance”

  1. Shell September 11, 2013 at 3:34 am #

    Watercolor is so lovely because of the free flowing nature of it…the imperfections that arise often end up adding so much to the overall feel of a painting. And yes, a beautiful lesson in learning to relinquish control…we need to trust the process, trust ourselves. I wish you all the best in this time of self discovery and I look forward to watching your art grow and change over time ~ Shell

    Like

    • said-simply September 11, 2013 at 4:39 am #

      Thank so much, that it is a great encouragement.

      Like

  2. Gallivanta September 14, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

    How wonderful that you are allowing yourself to paint and write.

    Like

Leave a Reply

